Do you Tribe? #Mondayblogs #blogging

What’s a Triberr?

By Michael Melville

 

Do you Tribe?

Do you know what Tribber is?

When I first started out as an author and blogger I, like many of us struggled. I struggled to figure out what I was doing. I struggled to figure out how to do it better. I struggled to blog right (if that is really such a thing). I struggled with the immense amount of information out there on how to do it. I struggled with how to connect to and with other authors and bloggers who really mattered who could help me along and who I could help.

Now, I’ve come a long way…but still have a long way to go since it’s never ending in this line of work.

Awhile back I was talking in a writers group on Facebook about my Tribe when I was looking for authors who were up to being interviewed. I was surprised that none of them utilized Triberr and it was suggested that I talk about that. So now I am.

Capture

Essentially Triberr is a website where people of like interests can join a…yes, you guessed it…a tribe. In this tribe are blog posts from every member of that tribes own blogs and websites. Some tribes are bigger than others. Some have hundreds of members while others only a few. Getting in is usually easy (for me it was) since you usually just request to be in a tribe once you find a good one that fits your needs and interests. Generally, each tribe is run by one or two people who act as the moderators or chiefs of the Tribe.

 

The thing that makes Triberr work for bloggers and authors (at least I think) is the obvious sharing aspect of it. Only the mods know the true reach of the tribe but often it can be hundreds of thousands and in the case of mine millions. “MILLIONS YOU SAY…HORSEPOOP!” No for real. No poop here it’s really possible and I’ll explain.

Triberr-Logo

 

What makes it work

As I see it there are two big factors in what makes Triberr and your Tribe work. One being the size of the tribe. This is because when you join a tribe you can link a few types of social media. So say you link your Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to your Tribber account. That means when you share an interesting post from said tribe members it will be shared on your chosen social media to all your followers, friends and readers. So, depending on the size of your tribe and the tribe member’s activity (which is key for sharing and the second most important factor) your blog posts have the potential to reach….yes, millions if the post is shared by everyone in all your tribes. NOTE: I say potential.

Capture2 Capture3

So, let’s say there are 30 people in one of your tribes. Each member has a linked Twitter with 10,000 followers (I’m making up numbers here and just using Twitter). That means your blog post has a shot at being seen by 300,000 people around the world via Twitter. Now, add in a few more tribes and retweets and….yea, math stuff right there. It’s good and scary all at the same time so you got to be on the ball and have content worth talking about and worth sharing.  Therefore, when you write a blog post about a fantastic book you read, a vacation you took or your upcoming book release your post will show on the tribe feed and members have the option of sharing it. It’s a hell of a lot easier than tweeting your ass off all day long and looking for relevant blogs to share.

***I will say I only use Twitter on my Triberr. This is because I try and use LinkedIn for an online professional resume. I don’t have Facebook linked because my personal Facebook is only for close friends and family and is not open to the public. I have a Facebook page for writing. However, with just a couple clicks it’s easy to share a post manually in situations like this and I do that often. ***

Capture5

I personally belong to 6 tribes so far. Two of them are Tribes about traveling and vacations because my dream is to get paid to write travel articles. Four of them are Tribes devoted to writing and publishing because my job that I love most is being an author. Not all blog posts I write are relevant though for each tribe. My travel blogs show up on my feed for my writing and publishing Tribes and my posts about author interviews or my next novel is shown in my travel tribes feed. Remember, every post you write from your connected blogs or websites are shared with all of your Tribes no matter what. So you can’t realistically expect people in a travel tribe to share your latest post about your next book. They might yes, and it’s cool if they do but they might not so don’t be a sad blogger when they don’t. This post, for instance, might be shared on all 6 since it crosses genre’s and boundaries.

As a member of these tribes, I do my best to get on every few days and share interesting posts. It’s how it works and is the point of the whole thing. We work as a team of sorts. If you learn some good blogging techniques like using certain hashtags on certain days then it can really expand your reach.

travel

 

How it’s helped me

 

Besides the sharing aspect of Triberr, there are a few things that have helped me as a blogger and author by being in these Tribes. One is access to interesting information, ideas and techniques. Remember at the beginning of this post when I talked about finding ways to become a better blogger? Well by reading these blogs from my Tribemates who live around the world I’ve been able to learn about what works and doesn’t as a blogger. When it comes to travel blogs I’ve learned what kind of things people blog about, all the avenues there are for writing and even site layout and design. I’ve learned a lot about places that would have never crossed my mind. I only wish that I was able to travel more so I could write more interesting and relevant posts both as a member and a hopeful travel writing professionally.

I think the most beneficial though has been my writing and publishing tribes. I have made several very good friends on my writing Tribes. I’ve learned a lot about the writing business, bettering myself as a writer and author and learned about subgenre’s which I would never have considered reading, looking into or even knew existed. The people in these tribes are immensely dedicated to writing and the business of writing and are in all levels of the book business. Some are authors (indie and a few traditionally published), some are book bloggers, some are marketers and some are editors or just readers but all are involved in the writing business. I’ve connected with other book bloggers, marketers and gotten involved in doing author promotions and book releases. These are things that I may have never done or taken me much longer to do on my own. I think everyone is far more connected than I am in these Tribes and that is okay.

example

When my newest novel, All the Roads Home came out I don’t think the release would have done nearly as well without the sharing of my blog posts from my Tribe. My visibility as an author (as much as it is) is in no small part to these awesome bloggers and writers. If you are running a book giveaway or another marketing undertaking, then belonging to a Tribe is a great way to get it out there. I have won several books and gift cards from authors whose giveaways I have found via my Tribes posts. Since joining Triberr I’ve noticed a remarkable jump in site views and interactions on my blog that might not have happened otherwise.

 

I think whether you are new to the writing business and blogging or more experienced with it then finding a Tribe with dedicated members is one of the best things you can do to improve your readership and visibility. I think I pay more attention to my Tribemates tweets than others on my twitter feed since I know they usually have interesting stuff. More than anything it’s a great way to network with like-minded people on the internet. It’s not necessarily about what I like but rather what content my readers and followers would find interesting on that day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

