International Literacy Day #InternationalLiteracyDay #Amwriting bit.ly/1K6iqCQ

#InternationalLiteracyDay

 

If you read one of my previous posts you know that there was a time in my life when reading wasn’t exactly the easiest thing for me. My parents got me help for that at a young age and it stopped being a problem. Sadly though, for millions of people in the USA and around the world it’s just not as easy as that.

Lack of reading and reading comprehension skills prevents millions and millions of people both kids and adult from reaching their true potential in life. You see, it’s a quality of life issue NOT just a financial success issue. Yes, reading opens the doors for employment, learning and expressing yourself but also for everyday things that many of us take for granted.

Imagine having to take the bus somewhere but not being able to read the bus schedule or read where it was going. Imagine being 10 years old and not being able to read a book, any book! Or even worse, being a parent and not being able to read your own child a book at bedtime.

This is an everyday thing for many people.

It’s not an exaggeration.

You may think it is only a problem in third world countries…but it’s not. It’s estimated that in the United States alone there are 32 MILLION Adults who cannot read (US Department of Education).

So today I am not talking about my books or writing like I usually do. Instead, I am working with Grammarly and donating time, my voice and space on my social media outlets to help raise awareness about this very real and very important issue and problem.  As an author I think it is my responsibility to help in any way I can, no matter how insignificant it may seem to some. As a new parent, this is an issue I think about every day. I know what it’s like to be laughed at a young age for not being able to read as well as my classmates. No adult, let alone a child should have to go through that.

Please have a look at this infographic below courtesy of Grammarly and if you have an extra minute please check out my chosen charity First Book which promotes literacy.
Literacy Day

 

Web-1000
Books By Michael Melville
Leave a Reply

