1st Draft of “All the Roads Home” is DONE #amwriting

Friends, Fans, and readers

Finally! After well over a year and half of writing it I am finally done with the 1st draft of my new book, my second novel, and the first in my Oregon Series titled All The Roads Home. For the last two weeks, I have been furiously writing the last several chapters (about 18,000 words right there). I am not sure what bit me in the butt to get me to write at such a frenzied pace, but it worked. Maybe it was moving my nightly writing out into my garage where the internet cannot get me. Maybe it was so I can prove to certain people in the world of Indie writing that I am not a “one hit wonder.” ( not that I think I am even that!) Maybe it was just drive or maybe I did it so people will finally understand that this thing that I put my heart and soul into (my writing career) is, in fact, real. Maybe maybe maybe….

Regardless though I pretty pleased with everything that I just painstakingly wrote these last few weeks. I got down on myself for awhile with how long this was taking because for some reason I just couldn’t find that consistent writing groove if you know what I mean. I think I got a little caught up mentally in this false belief and f#$ked up mentality which permeates the writing world (at least the Indie world) where I need to write books as fast as possible and put them out as fast as possible to be successful or mean anything as and writer and author . Then I remember it took me three to four years just to write Running Northwest. and its 578 pages (151,179 words). Plus I am in college full time, work and have a 10-month-old baby. I am someones dad now, I had to learn to cut myself a little slack.

fall-road-leaves-woods-yellow-600x375

So, now starts the tough part, the re-writes, the editing and the 2nd draft (and most likely the 3rd draft). I am trying to go about this smarter than I did with the 1st edition of my first novel Running Northwest when it comes to editing. I learned a lot through that first experience, and I am trying to get all my ducks in a row early, so I do not mess up this time. I have my proofreader’s setup, and they are waiting for a version to read and comment on which I would like to have to them in the next two weeks. My editor is waiting in the wings for me to give her a version I think is ready for her eyes and talents. Then let the formatting begin when that is all done…assuming I do that myself.

It is going to be interesting since I wrote two alternate endings for ATRH, and I can’t decide which one I like better so I hope my editor and proofreaders can give me some insight there. I am hoping that I’ll have a complete version that’s at least ready for formatting by the end of August before the fall semester starts. I will not even try to give an exact date for release, but I am really shooting hard a pre-Christmas release. I’ll be looking for readers for the ARC version by the end of the summer or very early fall.

test cover 2
JUST A FUN FAKE COVER. NOT THE ACTUAL COVER

I am meeting with, Victor, my cover designer (tomorrow actually) so we can go over initial ideas for the E-book and print cover. We will also be tweaking the official Books by Michael Melville Website that isn’t up yet. I already have pre-release marketing and post-release marketing in mind, but I am still trying to feel my options out for that since it is a lot to wrap my head around. (Writer friends I would love your input on this).

The next few weeks are going to be busy. I am giving myself a few days break from All the Roads Home though, so I can go at it with an open mind so I can be honest and critical. Perhaps I’ll even catch up on a few posts for Journeys & Life that I’ve had in the works.

So anyways great things are coming, and I hope you are as excited as I am for this next novel. Over the next several weeks, I’ll be keeping you updated and maybe give you a sneak peek at some things.  By the way the character sketches, the outline for the 2nd novel in the Oregon Series titled The Diner are done, and the first two chapters are written…yeah, I am not messing around.

 

Enjoy the summer

Michael Melville

Web-500
Books By Michael Melville
3 thoughts on “1st Draft of “All the Roads Home” is DONE #amwriting

Leave a Reply

