What I’m watching now #author entertainment

Even with all the things I am doing right now with college, writing, work, Stacey and our baby sometimes I find the time to watch TV. Lately and usually its mere background noise while I am up late doing homework. Sometimes though, I manage to actually sit and watch something. Thankfully having cable and On Demand has helped this so I can watch them at time when it works for me. So, here is a list of the shows I am watching right now. Most of these shows are at even interest for me so I won’t rank by favorite to least, I enjoy them all.

  1. Madame Secretary

This show is tightly written and has some great actors and acting. It’s funny, a few months ago I was wondering what the hell happened to Tea Leoni and then she pops up in this show playing a confident and gun-ho Secretary of State Elizabeth McCord. I love the writing and the suspense. The fact that the show has a few arching story lines while intriguing and realistic single show plots are great. I was a big fan of the old TV show Wings on NBC which starred Tim Daley who plays the husband of the Secretary of State in this show. It also co-stars Bebe Neuwirth who famously played Lilith Crane on Cheers and Fraiser and does an great job heading of the  SOS team for McCord. It’s one of the better shows on TV I think. I’d put it in my top 5. I like how the writers show the hard time she has balancing the stress of being one of the most powerful women in the world and that of a mother and wife. Plus she’s very attractive.  The ending of this past week’s show (11/16/2014) was crazy.

  1. Scorpions

This show is so stupid and unbelievable it’s actually entertaining. The show is about a group of super geniuses who work for the government solving crimes only nerds can solve. Think Big Bang Theory with more guts and toss in American Idols Kathryn McPhee. The show plots are totally out there and maybe even impossible but it’s kinda fun. This is one of those shows that you can’t take too seriously. I don’t think it will be around long so I am enjoying it while it lasts. The acting is pretty decent not Emmy worthy but definitely better than almost all reality TV.

  1. Gotham

 

For the DC/Batman loyalty this show gives a lot to bitch about unless you are me and don’t get caught up in comic book rants and rules. I like the feel of the show, the acting and the action. I like the new take on characters I grew up with. It’s an Origins show and we we see a young Bruce Wayne, James Gordon, The Penguin, the future Riddler and a young Cat Woman among others. Growing up on Batman I asked a lot of “what ifs” when it came to the characters we see popping up in this show. Yea some things done make total sense. Seeing Bruce Wayne and Jim Gordon (Ben McKenzie) using computers and sell phones is different but whatever. I like Jada Pinkett Smiths Fish Mooney character and her evil edge The set design and look of the show has a very Gotham City feel to it. I look forward to this show every week and I am enjoying where it is going so far. Its the best show on Monday nights I think.

  1. The Voice

I know I know my uppity musician friends hate this kind of show….bla bla bla.

I like the addition of Gwen Stephanie as a judge even though she is almost completely irrelevant to music now. I liked her back in my youth when No Doubt was still a band. This show has been hit and miss and I stopped watching for a few weeks. I have 2 favorites who I think are still on the show and those are Matt McAndrew @MattMcAndrew and Craig Wayne Boyd @CWBYall (who are both struggling musicians music snobs). I also have a soft spot of Reagan James. Adam and Blake are always funny and on par. I know many people don’t like the reality music shows and I don’t either. The judges and pretty decent talent have me watching this season even if sporadically (I catch using OnDemand). Someday someone who wins this show might make it big… at least that’s my hope. But let’s face American Idol has only had 3 or 4 people in how many redundant seasons reach superstardom so I’m just waiting. The fact this show is on 2 times a year is annoying and is its downfall.

  1. The Flash

I’ve never been big on anything from the CW. Yes this show has that CW feel but I’m enjoying it. And I was never a huge fan of the flash growing up but I’m finding this show interesting enough and entertaining enough to keep up with every week far more than Arrow. I thought the fact Barry Allens dad in the show played the same character in show I watched in the early 90’s was kinda cool. Even though it made me feel old that I recognized him. The Flashes Suit is a little suspect though.

  1. Agents of Shield

OK let’s be honest Agent Colson is pretty kick ass and we ended up liking him in the recent barrage of Marvel movies. This show has some quick, fast paced action and quirky characters. The addition of Adrianne Palicki is a one most guys will perk up to. The only issue I have with this are the kind of confusing and fluctuating story lines and the seemingly constant addition of new “agents”. I find myself saying, “Can we get on with it already”.

  1. Manhattan

This show is on WGN America out of Chicago and isn’t very well known. It’s sad really because this is a truly great show with some pretty big actors and amazing acting. This show takes place in the dessert during WWII and the development of the Atomic Bomb. It’s not just about the science but the personal lives of the scientists, mathematicians and their families. The writers did a great job getting personal as well as keeping the science understandable.

  1. The Blacklist

I don’t know what took me so long to start watching this show. The Blacklist is centered on former government agent Raymond “Red” Reddington who eluded the US government for decades and FBI agent Elizabeth Keen as they work together (sort of) to hunt down people on the Blacklist which are the worst of the worst criminals I the world. James Spader is smart, snarky and full of panache as well as being my new idol for how men should dress. Agent Keen is almost as fucked up and crazy as Reddington and I think ***potential spoiler alert*** I think Liz Keen is Reddington’s daughter but I could be wrong. There are several alternating but connected story lines that the show is pretty damn exciting. My downfall is not watching last season so I’m a little lost sometimes.

 

Most of these shows are on winter hiatus or nearing it.

Leave a Reply

