Letter to my dog 1 year 9 months

Harley,

Ya know I thought I could do it. I thought I could go a month without writing to you. I couldn’t. I ended up posting it on another blog I have last month. It didn’t feel right not keeping this going. The fall is here and this is our favorite time of the year. This was the time when you and I were the happiest. When we were not too hot and to cold. It was when we walked through the woods out in Gun Lake, Traverse City or the UP and felt the crunch of fallen leaves under us. That cool clean air that made us feel better about life and anything else that was bothering us. It was about this time of the year when I found you, when I saved you as a pup and you saved me. That was 13 years ago.

The other day I got some mail for you. It was of course from a company selling flea and tick meds. Something you never needed until you lived in filth. 11 years and you never had fleas and now….well now you do. The ad came with a Frisbee and it’s kind of cool looking thing. As soon as I saw it I almost broke down though. You were never much into the whole fetching thing but did love a good chase and game of keep away.

frisbee

It was just another reminder of how far apart we are, the situation we are that could have been changed easily had it been allowed. I can see you looking at it with that, “and what do you expect me to do with this dad?” look in your eyes. I can’t even walk by the pet department at the store anymore. It’s just too hard yet. I think Stacey notices the sadness in my eye when we go by that section. It’s been a year and 9 months since we have seen each other up close.

har harleyfarley

I just miss you that is all, I just miss my best friend and I wish you could meet my son. I wish we could go for walks as a family like we were meant to. He’s a great little boy. You and Jax would love each other. Your Birthday is soon. I won’t forget.

Always dad.

Leave a Reply

