Letter to my dog –1 year and 7 months

Harley,

Sometimes it’s hard to believe how much life has changed in such a short amount of time. Sometimes it’s hurts to think about the changes that have happened that you have not been a part of.

In just a matter of days my son will be born into this world; your human brother I’d like to think. The boy you should have had during your last years; one that you could dote on. The family you should have had and been a part of. Sometimes it feels like Stacey and I were meant to be as cheesy as that sounds. But it’s perfect.

I always thought you would be the closest thing to a child I would ever have and I was content and happy with that. You made my life better in ways no living person has ever done. You made me better as man because of all the good you showed me and brought out in me. Miracles happen and we change for the better sometimes. It’s amazing to think how much I have changed for the better. You were a miracle. My son is a miracle and Stacey is a miracle.

We talk about you a lot. Stacey knows how much I miss you and she never gets tired of hearing stories about you and me. On the shelf next to our kitchen table there is a picture of you. I took it on our last day together at the park almost two Januarys ago when you were running through the snow covered woods. I keep it there so I feel like you are there with us. I keep it there so I feel like you are still with me sitting next to me while I eat looking at me with those hopeful brown eyes. In dog years it’s been roughly 7 years and 7 months.

I can’t wait to tell my son our stories.

Always

Dad

 

Harley talking to a horse
Harley talking to a horse
Leave a Reply

