A Bad-ass Book Review CROSSWIND By @LynneCantwell #GIVEAWAY

TOUR-BANNER---CROSSWIND

Crosswind (Land, Sea, Sky: Book 1)

Crosswinds-450

Life on Earth is much improved since the pagan gods’ return. As conflict eases around the world, attention — and money — has turned to more humanitarian goals: improving the lives of the First Nations peoples and others who were repressed for thousands of years.

But the former ruling class – the military, religious, and corporate leaders who profited under the old system — are about to stage a last-ditch effort to bring their good times back.

The gods refuse to start a new war against those men, because that would make them no better than Their opponents. Instead, They have drafted three humans to help Them. Together, Tess, Sue and Darrell must find a way past their own flaws to ensure the gods’ peace will not be destroyed.

Amazon ~ Smashwords ~ Goodreads

Crosswind
Genre – Urban Fantasy
Pages – approx 275 (68K words)
Published November 20th – Amazon 

 

book-symbol

*****

My Take!

Back when I was just a boy, I was intrigued by the idea of the ancient gods. Growing up Catholic this was dangerous ground to be interested in. Over the years, as I grew into an adult I became fascinated with the histories and religions of ancient peoples and civilizations. First it was our local Indian legends then Egyptian, the Greek and roman gods/goddesses and also the murky mysteries of Atlantis. A few semesters ago I took a class at GVSU where I learned about ancient mythologies from around the world. Some of these included the Norse, Celtic and Asian religions as well as the tribal mythologies of the Pacific Northwest. I became fascinated by them even more. Since I have a deep love for the Pacific Northwest I took a special interest in the tribal legends from that area.

When I contacted, Kriss Morton, at The Finishing Fairies about reviewing Lynne Cantwell’s novel Crosswind I wasn’t sure what to expect. The book sounded great based on the brief synopsis I read and the fact that it had to do with the Gods, both old and new excited me. Sadly I only had a little knowledge of Lynne’s previously published work such as the Pipe Women Chronicles **EPIC fail on my part**. As I began reading Crosswind I certainly wasn’t expecting to have this much in common with the book when it came to my own personal interests.

Crosswind is the first book in a new series by Lynne Cantwell. This novel takes us into a reality where the ancient Gods of lore and legend and also newer gods are present in the world. They influence and guide the lives of people and the world around them. This happens with what seems to be very little secrecy. Months after the return of Jesus in Denver as an American Indian, the nation is being split apart by separate groups either supporting the return of the Christian god and or pitting against him. The book largely takes place in Washington DC and is full of the political twists, turns and backstabbing one would expect from the town. I really liked the friendship and bond between Tess and Sue as well as e former special-ops agent, Darrell, as they search and out fight against those who would like to bring the world back to its old ways of fear and control.

I was pleasantly surprised when I found out one of the main characters named, Darrell, an American Potawatomi Indian is from Michigan where I was born and raised. I enjoyed some of the geographical references as well as the fact that my part of Michigan has a rich Potawatomi heritage.  Lynn did a fabulous job of entwining new religions such as Wicca and their mother Goddess with that of the more established gods and goddesses as well as lesser known gods such as the Norse god Loki, the Irish Goddess The Morrigan , Nanabush the Ojibwa Trickster god, the Greek mother Goddess Gaia and several others. This type of story could scare some readers off; offend them perhaps because of its topic and mixed subject matter if they are wimps. One thing I admire about Lynne is the bravery it took to write this book and put it out there for people to read.

One idea that I thought was interesting  was that the Gods, all of them, came into existence by humans believing they exist. Basically human thought created them.

Crosswind, is a very nicely paced book and keeps moving for the most part. I felt it was very well researched from what I was able to see and wound a very interesting and exciting tale. The various mythologies were used seamlessly and it felt like the gods being among us wasn’t such an implausible thing. You could tell that Lynne drew from her journalism background for the characters Tess and Sue who work in the news field as reporters.   After doing a little research into Lynne’s books it would appear that the Crosswind series draws from events which took place during her Pipe Woman Series. At some points I did feel a little confused with what was going since I haven’t read that first series YET.  That however didn’t stop me from enjoying this book. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series and see what happens next.  This looks to be a great start to wonderful new series and I think it is worth checking out.

*****

BUY LINKS

Amazon – http://amzn.to/1aFt70x
Smashwords – http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/379760
Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18761555-crosswind

*****

THE GIVEAWAY

****CLICK HERE!!!!****

 

About the Author: Lynne Cantwell

Lynne Cantwell has been writing fiction since the second grade, when the kid who sat in front of her showed her a book he had written, and she thought, “I could do that.” The result was Susie and the Talking Doll, a picture book, illustrated by the author, about a girl who owned a doll that not only could talk, but could carry on conversations. The book had dialogue but no paragraph breaks. Today, after a twenty-year career in broadcast journalism and a master’s degree in fiction writing from Johns Hopkins University (or perhaps despite the master’s degree), Lynne is still writing fantasy. In addition, she is a contributing author at Indies Unlimited.

lynne-cantwell

TWITTER | FACEBOOK | BLOG | GOODREADS | AMAZON

GOODREADS  – http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/696603.Lynne_Cantwell  

FACEBOOK – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lynne-Cantwell/

BLOG – http://hearth-myth.blogspot.com/

AMAZON – http://www.amazon.com/Lynne-Cantwell/e/B005JTP5NE/

TWITTER – https://twitter.com/@LynneCantwell/

2 thoughts on “A Bad-ass Book Review CROSSWIND By @LynneCantwell #GIVEAWAY

  1. I keep meaning to come and tell you how much this rocks, the review. Get in touch with me if you are interested in reviewing any of her Pipe Woman Chronicles!

Leave a Reply

