Jonathan Franzen’s 10 Rules of Writing (via 101 Books)

i thought this was worth sharing

Jonathan Franzen's 10 Rules of Writing Last week, I posted about George Orwell’s rules for writing, so while I’m finishing book #12: The Corrections I thought this would be a great opportunity to check out what Jonathan Franzen has to say on the subject. This list came from The Guardian: The reader is a friend, not an adversary, not a spectator. Fiction that isn’t an author’s personal adventure into the frightening or the unknown isn’t worth writing for anything but money. Never use t … Read More

via 101 Books

About OregonMike98 (Michael Melville)

I am 35, a novelist,college student, former successful coffee lord, and an uncle. I published my first novel Running Northwest 3 years ago and I am currently hard at work on my second novel All The Roads Home. I like traveling and seeing new places generally with my dog when possible. I consider the Oregon coast and Florida my home as much and maybe more then Michigan where I was born and currently live. I have a 12 year old dog named Harley who is being kept from me by my psychotic ex. I am in a relationship with an amazing woman named Stacey who is showing a level of love I never knew existed. We are soon expecting our first child together, a boy, in July 2014. View all posts by OregonMike98 (Michael Melville)

Leave a Reply

Cinta's Corner

The Silly Ramblings of a Silly Writer

Celia Fitzgerald

"As every thread of gold is valuable, so is every moment in time." - John Mason

Primitive Screw Heads

"We Are Who We Choose to Be." -Green Goblin (Willem DaFoe)

elisa c poetry

Poetry and grim tales from my mind.

Randomosity

Random Thoughts and Musings of a Designer and Writer

The Incompetent Writer

Modern fiction, it's often said, is merely competent. Here's to some "incompetent" fiction.

The MMQB with Peter King

Analysis, insights on all things NFL

Fox17

News, Weather, Traffic and Sports for Grand Rapids and West Michigan.

Pilot Fish

Your Guide Through a Sea of Change

